top of page

"how to capture movement and diversity"

Workshop 03_ HOW TO CAPTURE MOVEMENT AND DIVERSITY OF THE HUMAN FIGURE

by Leticia Oggero


Locations: PLAZA FRANCIA, BARS AND COFFEE SHOPS


Workshop description: In this workshop I will show you how I approach sketching people from life and we will practice with different materials and situations. Introduction: I will show you my favourite materials and how I use them.



Part one: Body language I will show you the facial landmarks I use for a quick capture and understanding of my subject´s individuality. We will talk about body posture and gestures to reflect your subject´s mood.

Being able to visually communicate this information result in a more engaging sketch. As humans we are able to read in a subcouncious level an incredibly large amount of information, just from the body language and gestures of others.


Part two: Capture action I will show you strategies to deal with moving subjects, and how to use it to your advantage. Drawing from life is a challenge due to the everchanging nature of a living subject. However, in my experience it is possible to use this to our advantage resulting in a more enriched sketch that help us to tell a story and capturing action.





Part three: pencil, ink and watercolor demo. I will give you a demo about how I approach drawing using different techniques. We will talk about the materials varied expressive posibilities. We will approach sketching with and without line, directly with a brush. Practice: using other sketchers and people around us as models. Later during the workshop we will further practice during drink and draw at coffe shops and bars. Part three: Feedback and questions. We will gather and see each others work and materials for an even more enriching experience!



bottom of page